Dear, “The Fault in Our Stars,”

Someone asked me, “write a blog post about “The Fault in Our Stars” Okay?”

I responded, “Okay.”

okay

 

Ok, that really didn’t happen, but if you read the book you would get the reference.

okay

So if I’m writing a blog post about this book, I should probably tell you guys a little bit about it without giving away the story.  *SPOILER ALERT* EVERYONE DIES.

okay

Just kidding, everyone doesn’t die but the main characters in this story are both affected by cancer and I knew death would arrive to at least one of the characters in the story… but I won’t give away any secrets.

If anyone has read this book… they know about “that part.”  For people who have read the book, you know exactly what I’m talking about.  For people who haven’t read the book, you will know exactly what I’m talking about when you reach it.

howdy

For twenty minutes that was me.  Ya, this is a pretty emotional book.

Being a guy, I refused to read any kind of Romantic, “Girly,” love story books.  But I was preventing myself from an enjoyable reading experience.  John Greene, the author of “The Fault in Our Starts,” writes for teenagers.  Not just boys.  Not just girls.  Being written from the point of view of a female character, it was a strange adjustment for me to be reading “The Fault in Our Stars.”  But don’t guys secretly want to know what’s going on in a girl’s mind?  Ok, that’s another blog post, but the point I want to make is that people shouldn’t be drawn away from John Greene books because they have a reputation for being girly.  He writes for teenagers and I really recommend reading this book!  Don’t go in to this book with the predisposition that it’s a girly book and that you aren’t going to like it.

Ya! What the picture says!
Ya! What the picture says!

Overall, “The Fault in Our Stars” was a quick, easy, but emotional read.  It will really get you hooked if you let it happen.  I hope everyone enjoyed the book and this post 🙂

Truly yours,

Chris.

 

Leave a Reply

